citizenjane

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

relief


I had more than a week off from my work
and honestly?
It doesn't feel
like I had any kinda of rest.

What it feels like
is an increased sense of alarm
because I am all disconnected from the details
about the children.
that you know.

This is normal, they say.
[I have fabricated "they" so that I can feel more secure.]
How else can one actually feel secure
without fabricating?

A four year old child told me today,
as she pulled on my red skirt and peered
up at my black and white shirt, that
I looked like her flag.

Her daddy is from Trinidad, but
she was born here and
when I learned this,
I sighed in relief for her.

1:07 a.m. - 2006-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ibechristyc
paperbridges
nycme
spunkygypsy
seethingblue
letaboo
inkedgal
dirtylinda
epiphany
nictate
ethelalcohol
elegantwaste
seven-point5
andrew
pixgrrl
kats
perceptions
mydryskin
snowy
achren
bevin
idiomatic
malice
bloodyme
howiwonder
cybers1ut
pollux