citizenjane

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stranger with a camera

07:30:49 am

I took in some media last night. I learned some priceless lessons:

"I have a deep nostaligia for the future"
--FM-2030 (1930-2000)

"Fashion is about never achieving anything."
--Karl Lagerfield

I read the entire New York Times newspaper yesterday and it only took 2 hours. Really though, I skipped a lot of the Business section and all of the Sports, except the article about Mike Pizazza and Roger Clemens.

In that lovely newspaper, I found out about a documentary about the making of documentaries in the poverty-stricken areas of Kentucky. It was called Stranger with a Camera. Just to let Melissa know, we might say "Appa-lay-shee-a," but they say "Appa-lay-cha." I watched it on public television.

Is it possible to document poverty without bringing shame to those people? That was Ms. Barrett's point and it came through beautifully.

07:30:49 - 2000-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ibechristyc
paperbridges
nycme
spunkygypsy
seethingblue
letaboo
inkedgal
dirtylinda
epiphany
nictate
ethelalcohol
elegantwaste
seven-point5
andrew
pixgrrl
kats
perceptions
mydryskin
snowy
achren
bevin
idiomatic
malice
bloodyme
howiwonder
cybers1ut
pollux